January 20th, 2017

book cover - tpbol

Inauguration Day

The 20th of January (in the years immediately following elections) has been Inauguration Day since the adoption of the 20th Amendment in 1933 (which changed it from March 4th), during Franklin Delano Roosevelt's first term.

Presidents inaugurated on this day in history include:

32nd President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, for his second, third, and fourth terms, in 1937, 1941, and 1945.

33rd President Harry S Truman for his second term in 1949.

34th President Dwight David Eisenhower in 1953 and 1957.

35th President John Fitzgerald Kennedy in 1961.

36th President Lyndon Baines Johnson for his second term in 1965.

37th President Richard Milhous Nixon in 1969 and 1973.

39th President James Earl "Jimmy" Carter in 1977.

40th President Ronald Wilson Reagan in 1981 and 1985.

41st President George H.W. Bush in 1989.

42nd President William Jefferson "Bill" Clinton in 1993 and 1997.

43rd President George W. Bush in 2001 and 2005.

44th President Barack Obama in 2009 and 2013.

Today, at noon, Donald J. Trump joins that list, as the 45th President of the United States.